Metaarchaeology

I found an interesting book the other day. Since I’m interested in archaeological theory and the connections of archaeology and philosophy (and semiotics), and am preparing my master’s thesis on a theoretical subject (that is still unclear even to myself), I am constantly on the look for books and articles that could be useful.

Metaarchaeology: Reflections by Archaeologists and Philosophers‘ (Lester Embree [ed.], 1992, Boston Studies in the Philosophy of Science, vol. 147) deals with the very issues that, among many others, fascinate me; scientific method in archaeology and explanation in archaeology.

You can get the book on the internet but it sells for over €170 even at the cheapest internet bookstores. I was fortunate to find it at the national library in Helsinki.

Leave a Reply

